Day 21…..To continue? Or not?

Today is the 21st day of my Daniel Fast. I stepped on the Wii about an hour ago and I was down another 0.7 pounds since last Thursday! So far, over the past 20 days, I have lost about 12 pounds! I am so excited about that!!

To be able to pull a pair of jeans out of my closet that 30 days ago, I couldn’t even get my legs in, but today they just slide right on and zip and are NOT uncomfortable! What a great feeling!

But more importantly, I have grown in my relationship with God over this past 20 days. I feel my faith is stronger now. I am spending more time reading His Word, though still not as much as I should!!

I just feel better about myself and who do I have to thank for that??? GOD!! I haven’t done anything special to lose this weight. I just ate what He told me to eat, right there in the book of Daniel. Chapter 1: 8-16

8 But Daniel resolved not to defile himself with the royal food and wine, and he asked the chief official for permission not to defile himself this way. 9 Now God had caused the official to show favor and sympathy to Daniel, 10 but the official told Daniel, “I am afraid of my lord the king, who has assigned your[c]food and drink. Why should he see you looking worse than the other young men your age? The king would then have my head because of you.”

11 Daniel then said to the guard whom the chief official had appointed over Daniel, Hananiah, Mishael and Azariah, 12 “Please test your servants for ten days: Give us nothing but vegetables to eat and water to drink. 13 Then compare our appearance with that of the young men who eat the royal food, and treat your servants in accordance with what you see.” 14So he agreed to this and tested them for ten days.

15 At the end of the ten days they looked healthier and better nourished than any of the young men who ate the royal food. 16 So the guard took away their choice food and the wine they were to drink and gave them vegetables instead.

Now, I haven’t been eating just vegetables. I have also had some fruit, whole wheat, lots of water! The things I have done without include my coffee, tea, MEAT, FATS, sugar, flour. How did I have a meal? Well, God has given us so many wonderful things, first being a mind so that I could understand what items were bad and thus excluded! Such as anything that has been processed, sugar added, caffeine, etc. Secondly, eyes, so that I could read the labels and ingredients on packages! And third, God placed it in my heart that I should do this. He asked me to! Trust me, when God says “I want you to do this” it’s not optional!! You don’t tell God, “nah….don’t feel like it right now”! You say, “Yes Lord, thank you!”

So now, as I come to the close of this 21 days, I have to ask, do I continue on or do I stop my fast? Well, simple answer is, I haven’t reached my goal weight, so I’m not throwing in the towel! I don’t expect to keep up the pace of nearly a pound a day, but I do plan to do what I have to in order to continue with my weight loss, and I believe that includes some form of the Daniel Fast!

I am also not where I want to be with my knowledge and understanding of God’s Word, so I will continue working on that as well. And, again, I believe that includes some form of the Daniel Fast! My prayer life is not what it should be, so I will continue to work on that, thanks to Daniel and my wonderful, loving Lord, Jesus Christ!!

Jesus went for 40 days without ANY food or water!! I can make it without overstuffing myself and engorging myself with sweets and junk, surely! Yes, of that I have no doubt!!

My plan for continuing my quest for a healthier temple for, and greater relationship with Christ, is to continue on with the Daniel Fast, but with a few alterations from time to time. I am going to allow myself some meat a couple of times a week. I may even indulge in something sweet, but only once a week.

I have discovered that there are a lot of things that I thought I could not do without, but I can! Such as my morning coffee. Oh, how I love a good cup of coffee in the mornings with some french vanilla creamer in it! Or, even better, when I manage to get by a Starbucks and get a Venti White Chocolate Mocha Cappucino! (sigh) Fortunately for me, the nearest Starbucks is about 60 miles away!

I will also start exercising! Yep, I have not been exercising and still lost nearly a pound a day! Imagine if I had been exercising what I could have done! But, I’m not going to dwell on what could have been. I am going to learn from that and use that knowledge to help me as I continue on my journey!

I know God wants me to continue on this path of getting healthy. I know that because He is the One who led me to this fast! I have tried so many diet programs over the years I could do a commercial! And, I lost weight with some of them, but I always ended up gaining all that weight back, many times with a few extra pounds thrown in.

When I had to take certain medications over the past 2.5 years for my back, I didn’t know that one of them  would cause significant weight gain! But I don’t think it would have mattered. I was in pain and needed the medication. My medication use now, PRAISE THE LORD, is only occasional, and the days I need it are fewer and farther between! God is helping me to heal my back!

God has done so many wonderful things for me, just over the past 20 days, so much more than I deserve! But, He loves me! He wants me to be healthy, so He is helping me!

He has given me the wonderful opportunity to volunteer at a new ministry in our local area, the East Texas Pregnancy Help Center. This is a place where young women, some still merely girls, can come when they find themselves unexpectedly pregnant and dealing with issues of self doubt, low self esteem, and just needing someone to genuinely love them! Many of them have never met Jesus! The opportunity that God chose me for, to be a part of this ministry, just humbles me! Who am I that God would want me to be in a place where I am trying to help young ladies learn to love themselves and most importantly, to know the love of God! I don’t know, but God sees something and wants me to use it, so I plan to do just that! I am going to work to reach as many as possible and share the love of Jesus with whomever will listen. That is my main personal goal for the next 30 days.

I have a couple of goals for the next 30 days, or actually I will say the end of February. As I said, I want to work as hard as I can to reach as many as possible and share the love of Jesus with them. I want to become more faithful in reading God’s word and in my prayer life. I want to learn more about my heavenly Father! I want to have a better understanding of what path God wants me to be on, and I want to make sure that I am on that path! And of course, I want to lose more weight.

With God in my corner, I cannot fail!

Thank you Father, for what you have done for me over the past few weeks and for what you are going to do for me and in me over the next few months and on! Lord, I know my success with this fast has only been because of You. You told me I needed to do something and then You showed me what to do! I thank you Father! I ask you to continue to guide me in my decisions and choices I make. Help me to make the right ones. Help me Father as I work at the Center, to follow Your will, listen to Your voice, and to let Your Spirit teach me and lead me! Help me Father to know the right words to use at the appropriate time, help me to be diligent and conscientious about not saying anything that might turn someone away from you! I pray Lord for the young ladies that come to the center seeking help, that you may open their eyes, their hearts, and their minds, to be receptive to hearing about You! I pray you just fill me with the Holy Spirit and that I let the Holy Spirit take full control. Not just when I am at the center, but at all times in my life! Father, I pray that I am following your will for my life and I ask You to please continue to lead and guide me in the ways that You would have me to go. Father God, I thank you for the wonderful things you have shown me over the past couple of weeks! You have given me strength when I was feeling weak. You have opened my eyes to things I didn’t want to see or admit. You have forgiven me of ALL of my sins. You gave Your life so that I could be saved. Simply saying the words “thank you” just doesn’t cut it! I want to honor you God, with my life, my body, my soul, and my spirit! In Jesus’ name, Amen

 

http://seg.sharethis.com/getSegment.php?purl=http%3A%2F%2Fsimplewordsofachristianmom.wordpress.com%2Fwp-admin%2Fpost-new.php%3Fpost_type%3Dpost&jsref=&rnd=1327232473484

3 thoughts on “Day 21…..To continue? Or not?

  1. I am sure that God will take you in the direction that will be the best for you. You should be proud of what you have accomplished to date. I think you have done wonderfully.

    Walk with God and pray continuously.

    Respectfully,

    Ed

  2. Thank you Ed! I am planning to do just that!! I am proud of what God has done for me and I know that He is going to continue to bless me with continuously improving health. For that, among other things, I am so grateful! I do have to say that when I started down this path 21 days ago, I really did not think I would make it the full 21 days, so I am extremely happy to have made it this long and I think that just gives me even more encouragement to continue on!! God has been so good to me through this part of my walk and I look so forward to see where He is going to take me next!

    Thank you so much for your comments!

    God Bless!
    Judy

  3. Pingback: A Hard Lesson Learned; | God's Grace, ftw.

Leave a Reply

