Time to go grocery shopping!!

In the process of getting ready for my Daniel Fast to begin on Monday, I have a rather large job ahead of me today. First, I need to clear all the “bad” or restricted stuff out of the house. I kind of expect some resistance to that from my husband. He is also changing his eating habits on Monday due to his already present health conditions. He has high blood pressure and diabetes, which fortunately he has been able to avoid requiring insulin for, yet he does have to take oral medications.

His plan is to reduce carbs by avoiding certain foods. He was doing this a while back, well about a year ago I guess, and did fairly well. He did manage to lose some weight, but more importantly his HgA1C, which is a blood test used to get an average of what your blood sugar levels have been over a thirty day period, was lowered significantly. BP was still elevated though not as high as it had been, so we knew he was making progress. Then, for reasons neither of us understand, he started back eating in the same way we have for years.

Fried foods, high fat foods, sugars, anything that was bad for you is what we ate. This was during a time when my mobility and ability to cook or do much of anything was significantly limited due to back issues. I had surgery on my C-spine, and the low back problems continued. I finally had low back surgery last August and slowly, but surely, my back has gotten better. I do not have to deal with the low back pain like before. I am now able to actually stand and cook a meal as long as it isn’t a meal that takes a really long time!! During this time, my husband did most of the cooking. For the most part, his cooking expertise is with fried foods, or cooking on the grill.

I know what you are thinking, if he had been cooking on the grill more we probably would not have gained as much weight as we did over the past year, but that just wasn’t a possibility. This time, there is no option.

For 21 days, I will be eating fruits, veggies, whole wheat tortillas, brown rice, oats, whole wheat pasta, rice cakes, nuts of any kind, and popcorn. However, I cannot have butter, or milk, or anything that comes from an animal or is not natural. The hardest part for me is going to be doing without anything dairy. I love my butter, eggs, and CHEESE!! Of course, that is probably a major part of why I am currently at about 90 pounds heavier than I should be. I hear soy products are not that bad. :-/ We shall see!!

My beginning exercise is going to be mild walking and (don’t laugh) playing games on the Wii. There are several games that can be played sitting down, but even those I will stand and move while I’m playing. I have been sedentary for so long I figure ANY exercise is better than what I have been  doing! Slowly I will be able to work myself up to walking a significant distance. I had hoped to be able to work my way up to running because I know that will take the weight off, but one of my back doctors advised me against ever trying to run. I figure I will see how things go and if I am feeling pretty good once I get my walking built up, I may try a light jog. We will just have to see how things go.

I am not just doing this for 21 days. I am changing my eating habits and exercise habits for life. Not only that, I am changing my daily prayer time. I am committing myself to a minimum of half an hour to an hour in prayer and Bible study. I know that with God on my side, I can only succeed!!

The hardest thing for me Monday morning will be to get up and not have that cup of coffee. I know that even though the Daniel Fast book says if withdrawal symptoms are unbearable, I can have some coffee and will have to taper myself off. I am determined to not have to have that cup of coffee. I hope to be able to stay so busy that I won’t even realize I haven’t had my coffee, or anything sweet, or any other type of junk!

I have plenty of projects I can work on, as well as plenty of Bible studying I can do. I just have to remember to drink my water, which is the only beverage I am allowed to drink. And not just tap water either, filtered, spring, or distilled water only.

I believe I can do this fast and be successful with it. I love fruit and veggies. I don’t mind whole wheat pasta or tortillas, really can’t tell a difference between them and the white flour stuff.

I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength. Phil. 4:13 NIV

Leave a Reply

