Forgiveness can be such a difficult thing to give!

‎”Bear with each other and forgive one another if any of you has a grievance against someone. Forgive as the Lord forgave you.   Colossians 3:12-14″
 As much as I want to fight against it, God tells me I must forgive those who have caused me grief, or sinned against me, or even those who just don’t like me for whatever reason. As difficult as it is, I do forgive you all. R.E.T., I forgive you for the way you have treated me, disrespected me and my family, and the names you have called me. R.F., I forgive you for the things you have done to attempt to damage my family, and my husband. There are many others that I need to forgive as well, and I will, just probably not going to post them!!!
You wouldn’t think something so simple as telling someone you are sorry or asking for forgiveness would be that difficult, but when someone has hurt you and/or your family so severely, it is really difficult. It is also difficult when you don’t know how the forgiveness is going to be accepted, but, at least I don’t have to worry about that. Once I have done what God has instructed me to do, and I have done it, the rest is between the individual and God.
And then there is that thing about loving everyone, even those who have sinned against you. TALK ABOUT HARD!!! That sometimes feels practically impossible!! When someone has hurt you as badly as what some have hurt me, ever loving them just seems impossible. But then I remember, God doesn’t tell me I have to be best friends with the person. I just have to love them as He loves me. Matthew 5: 43-44 tells me “43 “You have heard that it was said, ‘Love your neighbor[a] and hate your enemy.’ 44 But I tell you, love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you”, and as hard as it is, God has told me to do this, so I have no choice but to be obedient and do just that!  As difficult as it is, I forgive those who have done ungodly and just MEAN things to me, or called me really bad names, accused me of some terrible things, and I could go on and on. Those people know who they are.
I am so thankful that God gives us the ability to be forgiving. If He had not done that, can you even begin to imagine where our world would be these days? I know I can’t!!
HAPPY THANKSGIVING EVERYONE!!!!
Leave a Reply

