Doing what God has called me to do

I do believe I may have finally figured it out! I have been trying to understand for quite some time now, just what it is that God is asking me to do. I have no doubt thata He has a special job for me, just have not been able to figure it out. Well, tonight, it hit me.
I’m not in nursing anymore for a reason. God could see way before I did, what was happening to me in my nursing career. I was getting to the point of not caring about my patients the way a nurse should. Don’t get me wrong, I still gave the best care I could possibly give, but my heart was not in it. So, God got me out of it. And, after working in a prison setting, it is very hard for someone like me to even consider working in a different setting that would require compassion and love. My heart had already started hardening. But God got me out in time.
For the past two years or so, I have been trying to figure out which way I needed to take my life. Did I want to get back into nursing, or start a new career in a different field. Do I want to go to school to get a different degree, or am I going to be satisfied with what I have?
Well, about a year and half ago, I visited Peachtree Baptist Church with my daughter and her family. I have shared the story on a previous post about how I felt at home from the instant I entered the building! Well, it wasn’t long after that I felt God tugging at my heart. At first I just didn’t understand what was going on, but it finally dawned on me, that tugging was God speaking to me, but what was he saying? I have struggled for quite some time trying to figure out what it is that God wants me to do. Whatever it is, I WANT to do it. I want to do my Father’s bidding. I want to do what He is asking of me, but I needed to understand it first!
Well, recently I became familiar with a new ministry in our area, the East Texas Pregnancy Center. This is a place for people who are experiencing a crisis type pregnancy and need some sort of help, whether it is physical, financial, emotional, psychological, this center is ready to help in any way possible. Over the past couple of weeks, I have tried to argue with myself about whether I really wanted to get involved in this or not, but something (I now realize it was God) kept telling me that I needed to be involved in this ministry. There are young girls out there that I can help in some way, shape, or form, and that is what I want to do.
I attended my first night of volunteer training tonight and I have to tell you, the Holy Spirit was present and moving throughout that room! The more I sat and listened to our lessons, the more convinced I became that this is where and what I need to be doing. I look so forward to continuing my training and I am going to check into further college classes!
For a very long time, I have been fascinated by psychology. I believe God is telling me to go ahead and go back to school so that I can use my ‘gift of gab’ and desire to help others in this new ministry! I am going to be volunteering for as long as they will allow me to, and who knows, maybe at some point a paying position may come available that I am qualified for. If that is God’s will I have no doubt it will happen.
I just want to be sure that I am doing what God wants me to do, and after tonight, I have no further doubts! This is what I need to be doing and I need to be studying and putting my everything into this. I want to be the best volunteer possible and help as many young mothers to be, and some fathers to be as well, as I possibly can to see that there is hope for their situation. I want God to use me to bring others to Him, but I also realize that I have to walk a tight rope in that area with most of these young people. If they feel they are being pushed into something, you will lose them before you even get to have the first conversation with them.
These young mothers to be need to know that there are people out there that genuinely care about them, and I am one of them. They need to know that there are ways of getting them the help that they need, and I want to be a part of that.

One thought on “Doing what God has called me to do

  1. I actually wasn’t done with that post, but that’s okay. I will post more later. Just one note though….if there is anyone out there who is reading my simple little blog, we are in desperate need of maternity clothes, good condition please! If you have some you would like to donate, you may do so by taking them to the Center, or call me and I will come and pick them up. Leave me your email address/or your phone #, and I will get in touch with you. If you are uncomfortable postin. g that info, I totally understand….send me an email at jlhall1107@gmail.com. Help us to help the parents to be with whatever their needs may be. Thank you from the bottom of my heart!!

    Tomorrows post will be about Veterans. My three sons are veterans, as are several of my uncles. I have so much respect for any and all military personnel, past, present, and future!! It takes a special person to serve and possible give the ultimate sacrifice for people they have never even met! But, I will get into that more with my next post.
    Until then, have a great night! May God bless you with a wonderful and restful nights sleep. May you wake in the morning feeling better than you have in years and ready to do something to honor a Veteran. If that is the case, I’m sure we can use some extra help out at Peachtree Baptist Church as we serve all of our area veterans and a guest, a wonderful fried fish dinner with all the fixin’s. We will also be accepting donations to send to the Wounded Warriors Fund.
    Happy Veteran’s Day folks! Hug a few vets today!!!

Leave a Reply

